SuburbanEyeFeast

The joys of organized jewelry.

Annoyed with myself for having stashes of jewelry all around the house, I decided to divide and conquer. I’m not a jewelry box lover and needed a way to keep my outfit-makers manageable.

Problem one: bracelets

Problem two: earrings

Problem three: rings

In my spare room I have a bedroom set from my grandpa that was sanded (by him) and stained a very dark brown … you’d think it was black. It was deemed a mistake by my grandma and it’s the very thing I love about the set. As with “spare” anything, the dresser was filled with old summer clothes, extra sheet sets and other random, poorly housed items.  I cleaned out a few of the drawers and designated the first two smaller drawers as my new jewelry stash.

As I gathered all my jewelry in one place and assessed my needs, I went around the house looking for containers to re=purpose. I located a silver utensil organizer, a container used for bead separating, and random tchotchke  holders.  I purchased an earring holder housed in acrylic and went to town on the re-org.

The utensil organizer was perfect for separating all my bangles and bigger bracelets, and the bead container was great for smaller, flexible bracelets. The earring holder had a row in the middle for rings, which was a nice bonus.  I had also received a decorative high heel ring holder from my mother in law that was perfect! I lined the drawers with cheerful yellow contact paper.

Cheers to using what I have – from the organizers, to the sentimental, and poorly used dresser. What I love about this final result is how well it works for me. It’s a time saver and I am happy and proud every time I open the drawers. It’s pretty cool to have a customized home for jewelry without having to be too exact – I just have to make it to the dresser. Click on a picture below for a larger sized slideshow!

5 comments on “The joys of organized jewelry.

  1. sarah@antidote_studio
    February 20, 2012

    Two thumbs up! Indeed, way to use what you have!

  2. Elisia
    February 21, 2012

    Your ideas are totally ingenious – especially your use of utensil holders. I’m totally inspired to make life fun again by simply organizing my accessories in this fashion. This is a great way to take inventory of what you do have, appreciate it, make use of it, and look forward to getting dressed each morning. What a pleasant way to start the day – it’s like a treat. Thanks for sharing!

    • suburban eye feast
      February 21, 2012

      Thanks Elisia! You nailed it – the inventory part is what made the biggest difference and it’s easy to see what items you can mix together in new ways.
      So go ahead! Make life fun again and let me know how it works for you.

  3. Purely.. Kay
    March 16, 2012

    Oh my goodness.. this is absolutely brilliant! I’ve been trying to figure out what I wanted to do with my jewelry and this is such a great idea. Thanks for this 🙂

    • suburban eye feast
      March 16, 2012

      Well that’s mighty nice of you to say! Thanks. You’ll have to keep me posted on your progress. Every day of my life I’m so proud I made the time to do this because it makes a huge difference in my morning! Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2012 by in Check yo mess, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

Catch Up On Reading!

Accountability Corner

February 2012
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

WP Anniversary

1 Year BigFebruary 13th, 2013

Eye Feast Inspiration

Create your own eye feast- let it be unique for yourself and yet identifiable for others.

Feast, and your halls are crowded; fast, and the world goes by.

Life is a feast. DIG IN!

Fools make feasts, wise men eat them.

He that is of a merry heart has a continual feast.

